Why is it so important to listen?

Hello everyone,

Thank you for checking in with me. I have had a nerve racking couple of days because as I am about to suggest to you it is vital we really listen to what someone has to say.

People talk and communicate with us in so many ways. With our busy and hectic lives it is easy to avoid seeing all the clues, which can warn you that something is drastically wrong.

I am so glad and grateful that I have a wonderful guardian angel, which seems to always be there for me, even though at times I question why is something not going the way I want it to. When I have really needed things to work out for me they truly have.

I have just returned from the hospital, my youngest son was admitted with breathing difficulties and I can tell you it was such an awful experience seeing him grasping and his body working so hard to breathe. He was so drowsy and I was pleading with him to stay awake and not go to sleep, but he said I am just so tired. (I thought to myself if he is talking he is awake.)

It was so incredible how this life threatening situation escalated. He had a slight cough but the weather was bad and most children have a cough now and then I was relentlessly told. When it was home-time his dad told me that he just sat on a chair outside his class and said he was tired. On the way home I saw them and I ran up to them and he said mummy I am so tired carry me. My instinct told me to comply and I did I put him on my back and carried him home and told him he should change and lie down and watch a movie.

I spoke to his father and asked if the teacher had mentioned anything to him about our son and he said no. I asked his father how he was on the way home and he said he was a bit tired and walking slower than usual. I checked on my son and he was resting in his bed and seemed fine. The cough was not regular and so my friends and family said don’t worry about it so I tried to not be too concerned.

A short while after he fell asleep and I went to check on him again. During the evening he woke and was back on his schedule and things seem fine. But in the night he had begun to cough more frequently and he didn’t sound that great. I was not too pleased but friends and family dismissed my concerns with it just a cough or a common cold which child doesn’t get them now and then it builds up the immune system.

I had a restless night and made up my mind that first thing in the morning I needed to get peace of mind, so I would contact a doctor. By the time my son was with the doctor my son was so tired and his nose was flaring and his throat was thrusting and his stomach was moving vigorously.

Needless to say he was rushed to the hospital and given the required treatment and thus I have had a heart wrenching 24 hours. It took a long time for the breathing to not be such hard work for him but he is full of energy now and has a care plan to follow.

Hear my warning! Listen, don’t ignore or be dismissive because someone could be relying on you to hear them and to take action from hearing your words.

Thank you for letting my beloved child be on the road to recovery. Keep on believing and don’t give up on things working out for the best. Fake it until you make it so you succeed always.

5 thoughts on “Why is it so important to listen?

  1. There are instances when you want it to go your way but if you want to make it to the top, you have to listen.. 🙂
    thanks for this post

    Like

  2. As a parent, you have to follow your own intuition about your child’s health rather than listen to friends. Many just want everything to be ok, so they give platitudes rather than real care. My husband and I are both asthmatic, so we take breathing difficulties very seriously. My youngest was hospitalized at 3 months old for a respiratory virus that she just couldn’t knock on her own. No one else seemed to notice there was a problem, but I called the nurse and she was alarmed at what I described. The hospital visit quickly followed. Thanks for encouraging others to listen to the child – not their friends – about what medical care is needed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree totally. Thank you for your comments and insights. The weather and atmosphere in the UK is changing so much, so were need to remember that this can have an impact on our children’s health and well being. We must listen to ourselves and get the support necessary for our children.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

